kula shaker

Natural magick

Cd cassette download lp

  • 1.Gaslighting
  • 2 . waves
  • 3.natural magick
  • 4.indian record player
  • 5.Chura liya
  • 6.something dangerous
  • 7.stay with me tonight
  • 8.happy birthday
  • 9.I don’t wanna pay my taxes
  • 10.f bombs
  • 11.whistle and I will come
  • 12.Kalifornia blues
  • 13.give me tomorrow

kula shaker are back in a big way energetic, philosophical, full of positive meanings to be found throughout. This is my thoughts explorations of natural magick thee seventh album to date.

They’ve slip by my ears for sometime their last album I purchased before this was k2.0 . there’s some catching up to do.I always thought for some reason they used spirituality or religion as some form of gimic trademark when I was younger cynical back then how I never knew myself?well over 20 years later I got baptised which was a euphoric pinnacle moment for me some friends and family were flabergasted when they found out but it made sense to me best thing I did for myself at that time.I miss my pentecostal church family I have not being in a long time but that’s due to many personal reasons and logistics. really In the past I assumed some of their lyrics were just pure nonsensical yet it came down to my lack of understanding stopping me from deciphering their meaning.

If you for some reason theres never being a moment for you to hearing kula shakers music or sound before then this is a great place to start which is a bloody good place to be at .Long time fans of the band will already be singing this or have earworms they can’t get rid of staying for days or hours within your mind. Their magic spark connection is reunited as all four  original  members reunite joining forces effortlessly starting from where they left  .I bloody loved kula shaker in my teens they were never the cool band to listen to back then I really didn’t care. My music tastes have always being judged and mocked.i remember when k was released rushing to Andys records Jameson street buying it on tape and digi pack cd with a few promo freebies as I had recently done work experience there.I still remember half the staff members names.

The sleeve vividly colourful adorned with the Indian elephant god ganesha almost hovering above the laping waves whilst a rat and mermaid sit underneath behind a butterfly or moth hovers behind as if blocking out or protecting them from the sun.

A reverse of bubbles in different colours makes me wanna dig out a lava lamp or do some marble ink printing. An Inner sleeve features an aged band lyrics laid over then the reverse purple red rays .This side looses my ability to read those lyrics that’s a shame but that’s my eye sight.

Natural magick magick produced by Christian mills bassist alonza bevan and Kevin Nixon who has done a little work with tom odell. This album is a sheer delight addictive feeling like a Kula shaker album I have being awaiting to be made in along time and no doubt one the band have being wanting to make as well.in honesty I believe I can not find any faults listening to this however closely musically still has that 90s or indie britpop vibe due to production techniques or mixing maybe .or simply because I grew up with them and that counter culture scene nostalgic?This is kula shaker sounding their finest yet offering so many doses of postivity along suprises when you least expect it each track a total gem .They don’t stray really far from their roots but the sound has being turned up ouzing charisma charm duets reflections which are the most unexpected delight .

We are given Indian sounds ragas ravi shankar may approve of. Those classic Guitar sounds we all recognise There psych sounds roaring there’s neither a dull or quiet moment on the album .Médative shamanic transcendental states incredible. KULA SHAKER are more than relivant now. Thematically lyrically it’s on point despite its heavy warnings observations ponderings this album makes me smile and dance silly.Overall love and people power unitting coming together to face their hurdles challanges in uncertain times we all need stability.It’s really a difficult choice picking favorite album tracks but those that connect with me predomiantly are natural magick,Chura liya,stay with me tonight then happy birthday but in no particular order .

I’m doing a double take think I’m hearing things then put the needle to the beginning restart it’s there that riff sampled?borrowed?played from the revolution will not be televised. I’ve not much Gil Scott heron best of and a couple of seven inches.i always listened to the last poets more is this a first to kula shaker doing a political protest is this a first for them?

Wealth denial of consequences social medias manipulation living a lie projecting a decitiful depiction of life which feeds a negative into others of course love is the answer to antidote to this negative poison that flurishes breeds online in my naivety I had no understanding of the meaning Gaslighting I had to look up.

Waves we swim among them drown by them have fun amongst them we watch their hypnotism upon the shoreline in unison helps things unseen move along swim beneath that we don’t see as people we should be united within resilience, philosophy, goals working together to overcome what stands before us usually the injustices hypocrisy of others.Journeys are far better with others than alone empowering one another using your own personal history to help make a change for yourself and others.

Natural magick an ode to love that transformative positive change affect or effect it has on a person for the better. How your mindset becomes positive after going through personal troubles which in turn affect how you see and behave towards people . love seen almost as a religion sacred love has no bounds it’s universal there for us all to embrace and experience.

Indian Record player seems to be swamped in nostalgia a warm love song to India culture,music arts in which we can embrace these beautiful sounds and visionEven if you don’t understand it there’s no harm in appreciating it you.be open minded non judgemental.

Chura liya(you stole my heart) its gotta be a love song as those eastern harmonies meet west in a perfect union .I’ve had my heart stolen have you had yours stolen sometimes we do get hurt this is filled with all those intamacies vulnerabilitis. when things become uncertain we need a solid foundation of stability those passions we hold inside whilst not wanting to get hurt.

Stay with me tonightwhy put something off another day when you can take an impulsive decision and do it right away making amends ,apologises when your in the wrong he’s pleading with her he knows it’s him that’s in the wrong.doing anything to put whatever it is right?

Side b

Happy birthday this is a pure earworm one that you will sing for some time a celebration of joy and best wishes whilst acknowledged past struggles but it’s going to be alright.

Poltical frustration of the nations dysfunctionality due to others failures in power whilst there having their pockets lined by us .standing your ground making a scene to have your voice heard and money is blood money with the games upper society play.

f bombs now there’s a lot of f bombs on here angry .wars don’t resolve anything t they cost money and liveahis is anger towards the establishment .,royal family propaganda stirs things up negatively.

There’s always tomorrow yes always another day yet sometimes you may long for the past and a past love if things where done differently than that person may still be with you yes it’s about heartbreak never make a promise you can’t keep.

Overall the album is a fascinating listen musically it sounds like kula shaker has all their trademarks yet it sees to flow easier sounds more mature refined has it being worth the wait hell yes give it time and a listen and you too shall find all its gloriousness .

Leave a comment